Temperate Reef
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Introducing myself!

3 posters

Go down

Introducing myself! Empty Introducing myself!

Post by Rambo January 12th 2010, 10:27 pm

Hi, my name is James, I am not new to aquariums. I keep 9 tanks. One reef (14g biocube) and a lagoon tank with pipefish, macros, and mangroves. i also just discovered a baby jellyfish in my lagoon, must have just hatched from its anemone stage. all my tanks are biotopes, i absolutely love biotopes as the reason I like reefing is because I am interested in how diverse ecosystems work. And reefs(temperate or tropical) are the most diverse ecosystems on the planet. And I am constantly researching ocean filtration processes and how to recreate antural filtration in the aquarium. I am a huge fan of the Berlin Method, and I have actually created my own method. i studied all the ecosystems of the ocean and put it together to find out that every single one of them interact to keep the ocean prospering. My method of filtration is by creating those ecosystems (seagrasss beds, lagoons, reefs, continental shelf, slope, hydrothermal vents, and abyssal plains) the hardest one to recreate is obviously the hydrothermal vents but their main purpose in the ocean is to provide necessary minerals to the ocean for creatures to use. Therefore dosing chemicals is basicaly recreating the vents and obviously minerals also get washed in from rivers.